domingo , 21 outubro 2018

”It would be hard to imagine a more perfect introduction to

Mother Goose Preserved

(All Ages)”MOTHER GOOSE does not come into our lives when we are young children just having learned to speak,” Muriel Rukeyser wrote 25 years ago in this very publication. ”We come to language through her, and to mystery and laughter and action. To poetry.”It would be hard to imagine a more perfect introduction to mystery, laughter and poetry than ”My Very First Mother Goose,” canada goose clearance the splendid new edition compiled by the widely admired British folklorist, Iona Opie, and illustrated by Canada Goose Parka Rosemary Wells, creator of over 50 well loved picture books. Mrs. Opie, who with canada goose uk shop her husband, Peter, edited ”The Oxford Dictionary of Nursery Rhymes,” has chosen 68 rhymes, Canada Goose online many old favorites and some less familiar, and arranged them in the loose framework of a day’s activities, from morning till night. The book opens with Jack and Jill’s disastrous trip to fetch a pail of water and concludes with a prayer for a safe canada goose coats on sale journey.Well might a child ask for safe passage when entering Canada Goose Online the antic kingdom of Mother Goose. A quick browse through the Oxford collection, first published 41 years ago, reminds us that a strong current of pain runs through many of the best known rhymes. Mrs. Opie’s selection in this new edition omits the cruelty. No three blind canada goose store mice cower from the knife brandishing farmer’s wife. No boughs break, no cradles fall. The tragedy of Humpty Dumpty is no tragedy for the small rabbit who, in a sequence of six pictures, surreptitiously pushes his breakfast egg to the floor. This is a joyful book, in which the cow jumps over the moon and the children are full of high canada goose coats jinks but protected by the magic words of a blessing:Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John,Hold my horse till I leap on;Hold him steady, hold him sure,And I’ll get over the misty moor.But do parents still read Mother Goose to their children? And if they do not, will uk canada goose the rhymes vanish from childhood forever? Canada Goose sale ”We are in danger of wiping them out of our children’s lives and having them replaced canada goose factory sale with rhymes from television and other canada goose clearance sale commercial sources,” Ms. Wells said in a recent interview. A world without Mother Goose! What would become of poetry for grown ups if we had never heard those rhymes that give us, to borrow a phrase from Auden, the infallibility of memorable speech?Continue reading the canadian goose jacket main storyHow fortunate, then, that Rosemary Wells has interpreted this collection canada goose black friday sale with such humor and illustrated the rhymes with such affection that both children and their parents will find them irresistible. The cast of characters canada goose in uk canada goose outlet this large format book includes rabbits, pigs, mice, cats, sheep, bears, owls, hens and humans in a variety of shapes and colors. Readers who love Max and Ruby, the endearing bunnies from https://www.topparka.ca Ms. Wells’s previous books, can find them here, in spirit canada goose outlet store locations cheap canada goose uk if not in name.Newsletter Sign UpContinue reading the main storyHer animals are so expressive that she never misses an opportunity to show, with a glance or a gesture, the love between parents, grandparents and children. The children here are hugged, kissed, dandled and carried out of harm’s way. In a world where so many lives are broken or impoverished, Ms. Wells offers the model for another kind of family. When her Little Boy Blue (a rabbit of course) falls asleep under the haycock the text leaves him there, but the illustration shows his parents carrying their sleeping son home. The text of the only lullaby Canada Goose Coats On Sale in the book captions buy canada goose jacket a picture of three cats, mother, father and young son, dressed in their best plaids for a family portrait:I’ll buy you a tartan bonnet,And feathers to put upon it,With a hush a bye and a lullaby,Because you are so like your daddy.Father and son are smiling at the camera. Mother smiles proudly at her canada goose uk outlet son.The one regrettable lapse in taste is the illustration for a going to bed rhyme, ”Up the Wooden Hill to Blanket Fair,” which shows six very buy canada goose jacket cheap white rabbits in Native American dress and headbands, surrounded by geometrically patterned blankets and gathered around a tepee.In her preface to an earlier collection of poems, ”Tail Feathers From Mother Goose,” Mrs. Opie cheap Canada Goose writes, ”The use of a miniature art form like this… is that it can cure moments of ennui and black desperation, or grace moments of exuberance or tranquillity.” While reading ”My Very First Mother Goose” on the train to New York, I found myself chuckling over the picture of commuter rabbits reading their newspapers in front of Bunny station. Soon I became aware that the man sitting across the aisle from me had laid aside his copy of Consumer Reports and was gazing fondly at a row of lively trains on the opposite page.Down at the station, early in the morning,See the little Canada Goose Jackets puffer billies all in a row;See the engine driver pull his little lever Puff puff, peep peep, off we go!If you give only one book to your favorite child or young at heart reader for the holidays, let it canada goose uk black friday be this Canada Goose Outlet one.Nancy Willard’s most recent books are ”Swimming Lessons: New and Selected Poems” and ”The Good Night Blessing Book.” She teaches at Vassar College.

Deixe uma resposta